Hot summer days and new responsibilities

Hot summer days and new responsibilities…

One bright summer morning, it got done… (Sorry, James Hadley Chase for stealing your book title…).

If you did not know what I mean, you will be excused. I have not been thinking coolly for sometime now…I mean saddled with the responsibilities of finding a home for the family, getting not one but two school admissions for my children, managing office, Looking after the kids who had come her for the admissions, providing with food and entertainment all sourced from outside…whew!. It has been hectic and hard sweaty work for me last fortnight or so. The Sun god, the emblem of the Ruling DMK had throughout blessed Chennai with bright sunshine and accompanying heat in abundance and had not helped our outdoor efforts to be any more tolerable.

Which is also why you did not see my blogging for quite sometime now? Hmmm, yes…

That and still recuperating Shyamala back in Bangalore made me that much more harried and lonely. I know what missing one’s spouse means with certainty now. With God’s grace, the brave lady is fighting her impediment with fortitude and is trying to be back on her feet sooner than later. All your prayers may please be dedicated to her…

Coming back to that bright summer morning last week, my son got through the last of the school entrance tests and we heaved a collective sigh of relief. One Sankara Vidyashram in Tiruvanmiyur found him fit after a ½-day long written test.

My daughter had got through a convoluted and hard fought admission process with another big name school in Adyar only the previous week.

That culminated my school efforts which had lasted about three weeks in April.

There was much suspense, anxiety, hard work and disappointment…a mixed bag on the way but my kids came through successful and kept cheerful, which is what egged me on and be confident of success. Three cheers to them…

Children are back with their mother who had missed them as much as I had if not more.

But, there is still a lot to be done…

Miles to go before I sleep, as they say…

Home away from home? Is that what I am trying to do?

It has been two years since I moved to Chennai from Bangalore and I am still a little hazy which city to call as my home now!!…

As I sat looking at the relentless waves breaking on the Besant nagar’s Elliot’s beach with my children playing in the waters last week, I recalled the famous adage- Time and Tide wait for none…Let me end this piece on this poignant and thought provoking note and get back to house hunting…

Be back soon…

One response to “Hot summer days and new responsibilities

  1. Sorry for being late in commenting.I was out of station.I had gone to Kerala for attending a relative’s marriage and took a welcome break from computers and the internet for 4 days.I just got back this morning and am catching up with the mails and decided to quickly look up your blog entry.Glad to know the school admission issue is sorted out.That is the most important and difficult one.Solutions to the rest of the problems will follow automatically.You can count on our prayers for your wife’s speedy recover. Please remember our offers of any kind of help that you may need.Kerala is as hot as Madras. I was in a place called Mavelikkara.I had a tough time sweating it out.It’s great to be back in Bangalore.Mercifully, the weather here is still a major attraction and makes up for all the other ills that plague the city.Your identity problem may never be solved.Look at my case.I don’t know if I am a Palakkad Iyer(that’s my family’s origin) , or a Cosmopolitan Bombayite,(by birth and early upgringing) or a Modern Kannadiga (by present domicile).I take turns to identify with each of the above depending on the situation.I suppose simply being Indian solves the identity problem.Am in hurry now.See you later.RegardsGV

Write here...

